Posted by: Academy of Achievement | 04/07/2015

freu_500The Honorable Nancy Freudenthal, Class of 1972
Chief Judge, U.S. District Court of Wyoming

Since attending the Academy of Achievement’s 1972 Salute to Excellence in Salt Lake City, Utah as a student delegate, I earned a bachelor’s degree and a juris doctorate, both with honors, from the University of Wyoming. From 1980-1989, I served as Attorney for Intergovernmental Affairs under former Wyoming Governors Ed Herschler and Mike Sullivan, and served on various boards, commissions and task forces. I also taught environmental law as an adjunct professor at the University of Wyoming. Governor Sullivan then appointed me to the State Tax Commission and Board of Equalization in 1989, where I served as Chairman until 1995. In 1995, I joined the law firm of Davis & Cannon and became a partner several years later.

In 2003, my husband Dave Freudenthal was sworn in as Governor of Wyoming. He served two eight-year terms. My time as Wyoming’s First Lady allowed me to focus on family and children’s issues, serving as honorary chair for Family Day and national chair for the Leadership to Keep Children Alcohol Free. In addition to other awards and honors, my husband and I received the Family Values Award from the LDS Church. On June 1, 2010, following my appointment by President Barack Obama and confirmation by the U.S. Senate, I was sworn in as U.S. District Court Judge for the District of Wyoming. I am the seventh federal district judge to serve Wyoming since statehood, and I am the first woman district court judge. I have been Chief Judge of this District since 2011.

My husband and I have lived and raised our four children in Cheyenne. We are the proud grandparents of two beautiful girls, Albany and Emma, and we have three more grand-babies on the way!

Leave a Reply

Categories

