Posted by: Academy of Achievement | 09/11/2013

george_sandozJeff George, Class of 1999
CEO, Sandoz

In late 2008, I was appointed CEO and Global Head of Sandoz, the world’s second-largest generic pharmaceutical company, with 2012 sales of $8.7 billion and over 26,000 employees in more than 140 countries. Sandoz is a division of the Swiss-based Novartis Group, on whose Executive Committee I also sit. Our product price points at Sandoz are accessible to nearly 90 percent of the world’s population and reached over 420 million patients around the world last year.

Prior to assuming my current position at Sandoz, I led Emerging Markets for Novartis Pharmaceuticals across 65 countries in the Middle East, Africa, Southeast Asia, Russia and the Commonwealth of Independent States. Prior to this, I was responsible for Novartis Vaccines in Western and Eastern Europe from the UK to Russia. Before joining Novartis, I worked as a Senior Director of Strategic Planning and Business Development at Gap Inc. in San Francisco, and prior to this, I was an Engagement Manager at McKinsey & Company, also based in San Francisco.

I received my MBA from Harvard University in 2001 after completing my Masters at Johns Hopkins University’s School of Advanced International Studies (SAIS), where I studied international economics and the political economy of emerging markets. Originally from Minneapolis, Minnesota, I have been living in Munich, Germany, with my wife and two daughters, for the past five years.

Reflecting on the several days I spent at the International Achievement Summit in Budapest in the summer of 1999 brings back fond memories of the terrific people I met and the incredible experience that the Academy of Achievement organized for us in my first visit to Hungary. I am grateful to the Academy for the role it plays in shaping leaders and I look forward to re-engaging with it in the future.

Leave a Reply

Categories

