Posted by: Academy of Achievement | 06/13/2013

Goldstein_500Andrew Goldstein, M.D., Class of 2011
Catherine B. Reynolds Foundation Fellow,
Founder, Frontline Health Worker Network

After finishing my Reynolds Fellowship year I returned to the Mount Sinai School of Medicine to finish my medical school training.  I continued my work with Tiyatien Health, spending two months in Zwedru, Liberia working on strategic planning, organizational process improvement, and the planning and design stages of a brand new community health worker program to serve “last mile” villages with no access to the existing health infrastructure. This Frontline Health Worker (FHW) program was initiated in partnership with the Clinton Global Initiative and the Liberian Ministry of Health and Social Welfare, among others. I continued working for Tiyatien Health after my return to the United States by recruiting and managing a team to write the first draft training curriculum for the FHW program.

I have learned that many similar organizations and governments find the concept of FHWs appealing, but have been left to create programs de novo, as the field is underdeveloped and fragmented. With this in mind, I founded the FHW Network (www.fhwnetwork.org), a non-profit start up that crowdsources knowledge of existing FHW programs, research, and tools; and advances the sector by easing communication and collective action.

I have now finished my intern year of internal medicine training at New York Presbyterian Hospital/Columbia University Medical Center, with an emphasis on primary care and general internal medicine. While here, I have focused on knowledge management and workflow improvement within our program. I have entered my fifth year as a board member of Princeton AlumniCorps, an alumni-driven effort to engage our alumni community in public interest work.

Leave a Reply

Categories

