Posted by: Academy of Achievement | 05/30/2013

kimble375Jessica Lin Kimble,
Class of 2008
Catherine B. Reynolds Foundation Fellow,
The World Bank

At the 2007 Academy of Achievement in Washington D.C., I was able to meet and interact with current and future leaders of the arts, industry, technology and government. I never imagined that so many of my role models would be so accessible. It was during the summit, while interacting with Bishop Desmond Tutu, Elie Wiesel, Suzan-Lori Parks and others, that I realized how much of an effect each one of us can potentially have on society.

I have been committed throughout my career to improving the plight of the impoverished, particularly in the Caribbean, through technological development. I started a number of small firms in consulting and private equity prior to graduate school, but realized during the Summit that while I could probably build my own business to a certain size, I had the opportunity to effect change through policy at a larger organization. After graduating from the Harvard Kennedy School, I joined the World Bank to incubate new energy technologies Although I have remained committed to social entrepreneurship, I chose to work within a larger organization to broaden my potential impact.

Since 2007, I have supported technology innovation globally, and specifically within the Caribbean region, through funding, program development and policy change. I’ve also conducted research which quantifies the financial benefit of socially responsible investing and the impact of climate change on energy systems.

I am grateful to Mr. and Mrs. Reynolds for their generosity and support of my education. I am thankful for the opportunities afforded through the Catherine B. Reynolds Foundation Fellowship and remain impressed with the accomplishments of my fellows and peers from the Academy of Achievement. They have changed my view of the world and my vision for my future. As I look into the eyes of my six-month-old son, I am also grateful to Mr. and Mrs. Reynolds for their time and effort, dedicated to cultivating this international cohort of like-minded peers who are committed to making a better future for the next generation.

Leave a Reply

Categories

