Posted by: Academy of Achievement | 04/05/2013

maya-leventer-roberts

Maya Leventer-Roberts, M.D., MPH,
Class of 2008
Catherine B. Reynolds Foundation Fellow

Since participating in the Academy of Achievement, I have completed medical school at Yale, a public health degree at Harvard, and a pediatric residency at Mount Sinai Hospital.  I am now completing a fellowship in Pediatric Environmental Health with both Mount Sinai and the New York City Department of Health. I am studying the impact of the urban environment on the development of pediatric obesity. I have also gotten married and had a son, and am exceedingly grateful for my successes in both my professional career and my family.

Since the Academy, I have stayed in close touch with two awardees, and have been thrilled to see so many participants make the news in such meaningful ways—from Taylor Swift and Joshua Bell to Francis Collins, Benjamin Carson and Barry Scheck. I still have stirring memories of my conversations with Nicholas Kristof, Sally Field, and Khaled Hosseini.

I am continually inspired by the outstanding work of others to keep pushing the frontier in improving the well-being of families and the health of children.

Leave a Reply

Categories

