Posted by: Academy of Achievement | 02/13/2012

Vianei Lopez Braun, Class of 1985
Partner, Buck Keenan LLP

I was a bit of a child prodigy and had just turned 16 when I attended the 1985 Salute to Excellence program in Denver, Colorado. I remember listening to inspiring remarks by Chuck Yeager and being persuaded by a compatriot to go talk to General Yeager afterwards. He was charming and friendly; I was awestruck and quite literally unable to speak. I like to think my social skills have improved since then.

I was Princeton University’s youngest female graduate when I received my psychology degree at age 19. I received my law degree from the University of Texas at age 22, and have been practicing labor and employment law ever since, currently with Buck Keenan LLP in my hometown of Houston. I enjoy the challenge of helping my clients navigate complicated personnel and regulatory issues, and defending them in litigation and arbitration.

I am a frequent author and speaker on employment law issues, and on one other issue as well: wine. From 1999-2009 I wrote a weekly wine column for two Texas newspapers.

I like to stay involved in the community, and currently serve on the Board of Directors of Goodwill Industries of Houston. I have been fortunate to receive some awards, including the Young Distinguished Alumna Award from The Kinkaid School in 1997, a Presidential Citation for Service from the State Bar of Texas in 2004, and Texas Monthly‘s “Super Lawyer” recognition every year since 2003. Much credit goes to my wonderful parents, David and Romelia Lopez, and to my loving husband Jason Braun.

Leave a Reply

Categories

