Posted by: Academy of Achievement | 02/13/2012

The Honorable James J. Edelman, Class of 2000
Justice, Supreme Court of Western Australia

I attended the International Achievement Summit in London as a Rhodes Scholar in October 2000. Other attendees included Sergey Brin and Larry Page who had recently started a small company they called Google. The speakers included Bertie Ahern, Benazir Bhutto, Lech Walesa and Mikhail Gorbachev. At the time I was a doctoral student in law at Oxford. I completed my doctorate in early 2001 and returned to my home state, Western Australia, to practice law. In 2005, I took up a position as a Fellow and Tutor in law at Keble College and lecturer at the University of Oxford. Due to geographical restrictions, my practice in Australia was limited to only a few cases a year, although from 2008 I practiced full-time at the bar in England whilst teaching as Professor of the Law of Obligations at the University of Oxford. In my academic work, I have published and edited books on damages, interest awards, equity, unjust enrichment, and torts. In July 2011, I returned to Western Australia to accept a commission as a Justice of the Supreme Court of Western Australia. My position, and caseload, now limits to a degree my involvement in academic debate and the academic development of the law, but I still write and present at and attend conferences wherever possible and I remain involved with a number of charitable foundations. I was also elected to the American Law Institute on Australia Day this year, January 26, 2012.

Leave a Reply

Categories

