Posted by: Academy of Achievement | 02/13/2012

The Honorable Gareth Richard Morgan,
Class of 2002
Member of Parliament,
Republic of South Africa

The 2002 Summit offered me the opportunity to engage with many fascinating people. The panel discussion between Bill Clinton and Bono was a highlight.

Following my completion of an M.Sc. in Environmental Change at Oxford University in September 2003, I returned to South Africa, and in the April 2004 elections was elected as a Member of Parliament for the Democratic Alliance. During my first 18 months in Parliament I served as the Parliamentary Counselor to the Leader of the Opposition. Thereafter I served as the official opposition spokesperson on health, before becoming the spokesperson on environmental affairs. Following my re-election to Parliament in April 2009 I became the Shadow Minister of Water and Environmental Affairs.

Leave a Reply

Categories

