Posted by: Academy of Achievement | 02/05/2012

Mitzi I. Kuroda, Ph.D., Class of 1977
Professor of Genetics, Harvard Medical School

I remember the invitation to the 1977 Salute to Excellence came out of the blue. I was just a high school student from a small college town: Fayetteville, Arkansas. I remember sitting near the actress Cloris Leachman at the banquet, and being inspired by her outspokenness. At that point I had no idea what I would do with my life, and it was exciting and informative to meet high achievers from a broad spectrum of careers. In college at Tulane, and graduate school at Stanford, I found a love for scientific discovery, particularly in the fast moving fields of molecular biology and genetics. Since then, I have headed research labs at Baylor College of Medicine in Houston, Texas, and at Harvard Medical School.

I am currently a Professor of Genetics at Harvard Medical School and Brigham & Women’s Hospital. My group works on a very basic research question, using fruit fly genetics and genomics to ask how genes and chromosomes are regulated.

I am very impressed with the work of the Academy of Achievement and am grateful for the opportunities offered to so many talented young people.

Leave a Reply

Categories

