Posted by: Academy of Achievement | 03/15/2011

Kevin S. Schwartz, Class of 2002

Rockefeller Fellow, Partnership for NYC

Associate, Wachtell, Lipton, Rosen & Katz

I can hardly believe it’s been nearly a decade since my incredible experience in Dublin at the Academy’s Achievement Summit. At the time, I was completing my MBA and PhD at Oxford as a Marshall Scholar, and soon returning to the U.S. to attend Yale Law. After grad school, I enjoyed another year in New Haven working as a law clerk for Judge Guido Calabresi on the U.S. Court of Appeals, and as a lecturer on Yale’s political science department faculty. The clerkship was fantastic, and the chance to teach at the same time was wonderful. A year later, I moved to D.C. to serve as a law clerk for Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg on the U.S. Supreme Court. The experience was amazing. Outside of work, it was exciting to be in D.C. in 2008 during the big election, especially to be able to attend the Inauguration.

After my clerkship was complete, I returned to NYC and the law firm Wachtell, Lipton, Rosen & Katz, where I have been able to work on fascinating matters in both the corporate and civic communities of New York. Most recently, as a Rockefeller Fellow in the Partnership for NYC, I have been learning so much about the city and the ways I can combine my interests in law, business, and government to make a difference for others.
Over the years since attending the Achievement Summit, I have remained deeply grateful for many friendships that began in Dublin and for the wonderful support of Catherine and Wayne Reynolds. I look forward to keeping in touch with you all.

Leave a Reply

Categories

